Contact Our Office

We welcome feedback on current policies. Email us with questions and comments.

Health Sciences Policy Office

Welcome to the UNM Health Sciences Policy Office.

The Health Sciences Policy Office oversees the development, revision, and issuance of Health Sciences policies.  Through the policies, the office strives to mitigate risk, enhance efficiency, and promote compliance with laws and regulations.

Health Sciences cascaded policies apply to all faculty and staff, regardless of department, unit, clinic, college or facility affiliation. In addition, Health Sciences entities have their own unique policies and procedures. Click on Policy Portal or Policy Site links below to access policies. For entity-specific information, contact the designated point person listed below or Health Sciences Policy Manager, Gail Hammer.

The Policy Alignment Workgroup (the PAW) supports a systems approach to policy alignment and integration.  If you are interested in joining or learning more about this enterprise-wide workgroup, please email

Policies hold the key to knowing what’s right, and doing it the right way the first time.

Policy Points of Contact

Gail Hammer
Health Sciences Policy Manager

Carlotta Abeyta
Health Sciences Finance & Administration

Sidney Mason-Coon
UNM Policy Office

Kathy Agnew
Human Resources

Office of the University Secretary

Alison Webster
UNM Hospitals & SRMC Medical Staff Affairs

Natalie Plata
Chair PPG Committee

Irene Agostini, MD

Catina Flagg
Health Information Management (HIM)

Rebecca Pendergast
Medical Records 

Erika Cole
Children’s Hospital

Andrea Solano
CTH Children’s Outpatient

Cynde Tagg, DNP
Outpatient Clinics

Ryan Randall
Human Resources

Mary Perez
Adult Psychiatric Center

Mario Cruz, MD
Behavioral Health

Ivana Bononcini
Lab Services

Meaghan Carey Eiland

Angela Vigil

Kathryn Anderson
Health Literacy

Matthew Wilks, MD
SRMC Faculty

Paul Villani
SRMC- PT Access/Forms/HIM/Finance

Paul Nelson
SRMC Quality Director

Kimberley Schneider
Lab Services

Janet Abernathy
Quality Programs

Sandy Schafer
Quality Programs

Renee Ayala
Quality Manager

Cathy Rivera

Alan Saint
Truman Quality

Helen Nielsen
Human Resources

Chris Hamilton
Human Resources

Cory McDowell
Legal Advisor

Sara Navarrette
Legal Advisor

James MacFarlane
Research Operations

Justin Lucero
Research Operations Officer